Welcome to your new CakeMail account! The following step-by-step guide will help you get your CakeMail account up and running:
To enter your company information go to the Settings tab > Company Profile. The information you enter under Company Address will help us keep our records updated. Make sure you keep this information up to date.
We have a detailed set up guide within the product - be sure to follow the instructions carefully.
Add or modify permissions for users and grant/remove administrator access for your reseller account. To add a new user:
Your site settings will allow you to configure everything from timezones, languages, and sign up settings for your users.
Under General Site Settings you can set the following:
Site Name and Copyright
You can use the Site Name field to specify the name of your service if it's different from your company name. You can also set your Copyright message and URL if you have one.
As CakeMail is updated, we will be giving you access to the recent and past versions, allowing you to get ready for the full upgrade. You can also view release notes on updates and bug fixes.
Site URL and Sign-out URL
Set the URL you want your clients to access your site from and where your users should be sent after they log out.
Enter the URL you want users to be sent to when they click on the Upgrade Link. What this page looks like, as well as its location, is completely up to you. You can include pricing information or special promotions. If nothing is entered, this link will default to your support email address.
If you plan on offering add-ons for a specific price, use the currency menu to set your preferred currency.
EU Cookie Law Compliance
Require your clients to accept cookies in compliance with the EU Cookie Law
Validation email tool
This lets your clients customize their DKIM and SPF records.
You can choose to offer a completely white-labeled, in-product help documentation, or redirect users to another website or email you directly for technical support.
The System Email Template is used when people sign up, request a password reset, and for any other system-triggered emails.
To edit it, go to the System Email Template option to the right of your admin page.
The content generated is identified by the [content] tag added on the editor. Your branded template can be added above, below, or around the [content] tag.
Once you have edited your design, click save at the bottom right of the page.
If you wish to see a sample of what a system email will look like, send a test email by clicking the Send Test Email button at the top right corner of the page. Since the content of these emails can change, the test you will receive will contain placeholder text.
Here you can set the defaults for all clients that sign up to use your service.
Access the Sign Up Settings under the Settings tab > Your Site Settings > Sign Up Settings
You will find the following:
Setting default sending limits for all clients will allow you to offer special packages as your clients decide to upgrade and pay to use your services.
Default Sign up Country, State/Province and Timezone
You can set the default location and timezone all accounts. Setting a specific timezone will affect the delivery of every campaign that goes out.
Adding a signup button
By checking "yes" on Let clients sign-up themselves?, you automatically add a sign-up button to your login page.
Receiving confirmation of accounts created
You can choose to send confirmation emails to the account's administrator and the client upon creating and setting up the account successfully under Where should confirmation Emails be sent? and Who should be notified when the account is successfully set up?
Choose whether newly created accounts are created as trial or active.
There are currently three options available to brand your site: Logo & Basic Colors, Advanced Branding and CSS. Both Advanced Branding and CSS are for advanced users, so we recommend you get started with your logo and basic site colors.
Basic branding allows you to quickly brand your site by uploading your own logo and setting a color scheme.
Here you will have the option to upload your site logo. Click on the browse button to search for the image on your computer and upload it.
Accepted formats include jpg, non-animated gifs and png files no larger than 1MB. Recommended file size is 300px wide X 100px tall. Larger images will be resized to fit within these dimensions.
A favicon is the small icon for a site displayed in the address bar of your web browser.
Click on the browse button to search for the image on your computer. If you don’t have one yet, you can generate a favicon based on your site logo by clicking on Generate favicon from logo at the top of the page.
At the bottom of the page you will see a section that allows you to set some basic colors for your site. If you already have a set of corporate colors to use, you can enter their #HEX values or select a color via the color-picker by clicking on the color indicator to the right of the #HEX value.
You can also have your the colors of your logo determine the color scheme of your site. Click on Generate colors from logo at the top of the page and the color options will be automatically populated.
To add or delete a client, go to the Clients tab under your administrator account.
To add, click on Create New Client
Click on Create Client to finish the process. You will then be prompted to create a user for the account. This user will be assigned a password and permissions to navigate through the system. The user's timezone can also be set here, if different from your admin account timezone.
Once the account is Active, you will see beside it on your Clients tab three options available - Downgrade, Suspend, and Delete
Downgrading an account will reset the user to a trial account. You can upgrade a downgraded account at any time.
Suspending an account will suspend a user’s account for any period of time without deleting any information. Suspended accounts can be reactivated at any time.
Deleting an account will terminate a user. Data from a deleted account will be completely erased from the system after 30 days
Before uploading a template, you must first create a category.
Categories allows you and your clients to reuse the same design for multiple email campaigns, keeping your messages consistently branded.
To create a category, go to Library > Manage Categories > Add Category
Name your category. If you are uploading templates with a specific theme, you can name your category after that theme. (ie, Advanced, Basic, Aqua, Dark, etc)
Go back to your templates, look for the template category you just created, and click on the Add Template button
Here you will have the chance to either create a template from scratch (or copy and paste from an existing HTML file) or upload your HTML and images in a single zip file.**
You may also duplicate a template into another category by clicking on the Manage button next to the template and selecting Copy Template.
Your .ZIP file must contain an
.html file in the root of the .ZIP.
Images and folders will be copied to the client's folder.
Any files other than
.png will not be included.
.ZIP files greater than 2 MB will not be uploaded.
Your account also includes a library of Optimized Templates your clients can use to create campaigns. Learn how to make your own.
Once you have created categories and uploaded your templates, you can begin sharing them with clients.
To share these individual categories, browse to Library > Newsletter Templates > Manage Categories
Hover your mouse over the category that you wish to share. You will see two options:
The first option will allow you to enable or disable availability to all clients.
The second option will pop up the window below and allow you to manage each client separately.
All third party add-ons are available under the Marketplace.
In the Marketplace you will find add-ons that will help with spam and email testing, deliverability, and importing contacts.
To upload contacts through any of these third-party sites, you may be asked to enter an API, Token, or username and password - you will have to gather this information from the provider.